Which Branch Of The Government Makes The Laws?

Get the answer to the question, “Which branch of the government makes the laws?”

Both the legislative and executive branches can make laws. The legislative branch (Congress) makes laws when it passes bills. The executive branch (President) can make laws when it issues executive orders.

Checkout this video:

The Legislative Branch

The legislative branch is the part of the government that makes the laws. This branch is made up of Congress, which is divided into two houses: the Senate and the House of Representatives. The members of Congress are chosen by the people of each state. They serve for a set period of time, and then they can be re-elected.

The Executive Branch

The executive branch of the United States government is responsible for carrying out the laws of the nation. This branch is headed by the president, who is advised by a cabinet of executive branch departments. The primary duty of the executive branch is to enforce the laws enacted by Congress.

The Judicial Branch

The Judicial Branch is responsible for interpreting the meaning of laws, applying laws to individual cases, and deciding if laws violate the Constitution. Article III of the Constitution establishes the Judicial Branch and vests judicial power in “one supreme Court,” and such “inferior Courts” as Congress may from time to time ordain and establish. The Constitution does not define “judicial power,” but the Supreme Court has said that it consists of the power to hear cases and controversies.

The Legislative Process

The Constitution gives Congress the sole authority to enact legislation and declare war, the power to confirm or reject many Presidential appointments, and substantial oversight of the nation’s intelligence agencies.

Laws begin as ideas or proposals, also known as bills. These bills are introduced in either the House of Representatives or the Senate by their sponsors. Before a bill can become a law, it must be approved by both houses of Congress—the House of Representatives and the Senate—and then signed by the President. If the President takes no action on a bill within 10 days while Congress is in session, it becomes law.

How Laws Are Made

Most laws in the United States are made at the federal level. The United States Congress is responsible for creating and passing legislation, which is then signed into law by the President. However, there is a growing trend of states passing their own laws on issues that they feel are important.

The process of creating a law is complex and involves many steps. Bills can be introduced in either the House of Representatives or the Senate, but they must ultimately pass both chambers before becoming law. Once a bill has been introduced, it is assigned to a committee for consideration. If the bill passes out of committee, it is then debated on the floor of each chamber.

After a bill has been passed by both the House and Senate, it goes to the President for signature. The President can either sign the bill into law or veto it. If the President vetoes a bill, Congress can override that veto with a two-thirds vote in each chamber.

It should be noted that not all legislation becomes law. In fact, most bills die in committees or never make it to a vote. Of those that do make it to a vote, most are rejected by one chamber or the other. Only a small fraction of bills become law each year.

The Constitution

The Constitution is the supreme law of the United States. It creates a federal system of government in which power is shared between the federal government and the state governments. The Constitution has three main purposes: it creates a federal system of government, it establishes authority and groups, and it protects basic liberties of Americans.


In the United States, the federal government makes the laws, but the state governments administer them. This system is known as federalism. The framers of the Constitution created federalism in order to strike a balance between the authority of the central government and the rights of the states.

Under federalism, both the national government and the state governments have their own spheres of authority. The national government is responsible for foreign affairs, national defense, and creating currency, while the state governments are responsible for education, healthcare, and public safety. In some cases, both the national and state governments have concurrent jurisdiction over an issue. For example, both the national government and the state governments have the power to tax their citizens.

The Constitution grants certain powers to the national government that are known as enumerated powers. Enumerated powers are listed in Article I, Section 8 of the Constitution. These powers include regulating interstate commerce, levying taxes, and declaring war. The Constitution also provides for implied powers, which are necessary in order to carry out enumerated powers. For example, Congress has the power to build roads in order to regulate interstate commerce.

The Constitution also contains a provision known as the Supremacy Clause, which establishes that federal law takes precedence over state law. This provision is necessary in order to prevent contradictory laws from being enacted by different levels of government.

Civil Liberties

The three branches of government are the legislative, executive, and judicial branches. The legislative branch, Congress, is responsible for making laws. The executive branch, headed by the President, is responsible for carrying out the laws. The judicial branch, headed by the Supreme Court, is responsible for interpreting the laws.

Civil Rights

The three branches of the United States federal government are the executive, legislative, and judicial branches. The laws of the United States are made by the legislative branch (Congress), and interpreted by the judicial branch (courts). The executive branch (the President and his or her administration) carries out the laws.

The Bill of Rights

The Bill of Rights is the first ten amendments to the United States Constitution. These amendments guarantee rights that many Americans take for granted, such as freedom of speech and freedom of religion. The Bill of Rights also protects Americans from unreasonable searches and seizures by the government.

Scroll to Top